It’s okay to be an Introvert..!

The excruciating feeling I get when there is a pause during any discussion and everyone looks up at me and expects me to speak and contribute to the conversation, with a flushed face I could reply something clumsily and then regret saying anything for days to come.

introvertp
Image source Internet

The most dreadful situation for me is to talk or interact with crowd or as a matter of fact talking or doing anything in front of a small group is tough for me even if I am not familiar with only one or two members. The most awkward circumstances for me is to initiate conversation with a person however close or distant relation I have with them.  The excruciating feeling I get when there is a pause during any discussion and everyone looks up at me and expects me to speak and contribute to the conversation, with a flushed face I could reply something clumsily and then regret saying anything for days to come. It’s not just about talking; it’s very demanding and draining for me to be continuously exposed to the outer world like social parties and gatherings, I can summon up goodwill for a whilst but after a while I start to fade away and will usually be seen sitting quietly on my own.

This shy and reticent behaviour as termed by many psychologists is called introvert behaviour. But do you actually know what introvert is? Chances are you don’t know anything about it; all you know is that introverts are quiet, don’t like other people and are always nervous. But in reality introvert are those who expand their energy from being alone and lose energy in rousing environments, such as public events, party or unknown crowd.  Introverts are often misinterpreted by the more chipper and chatty members of the society, for them introverts are invisible like empty space just because extroverts dominate introverts by 3 to 1 ratio.

Introverts can be warm, interested in others, and powerful but in their own right time and way. Just because they take time to open up does not mean they are boring or dull, in fact they are most interesting people you will ever come across. Introverts do their best work inside their heads, in reflection. Their attitude is one of caution, reserve and reflection. Because of their focus on their inner world, introverts tend not to learn by trial and error. They understand through observation and prefer not to act or respond without thoughtful consideration. Introverts need time “to digest” information before responding to it. They characteristically pause before action. This pause, often called hesitation by others, gives them time to study and classify a new situation so the action taken will make sense in the long run.

So, what I really want to say is that being an introvert is not a bad thing nor it’s dangerous, nor should anyone pity them. They just need time and people who can understand them and work according to their need, space and time required by them. It’s okay to be an introvert.

Author: Aprajita Dixit

A girl who does nothing and is still searching for her life's goal

1 thought on “It’s okay to be an Introvert..!”

Leave a Reply

